For a few years now, staying in the USA for a short time has become child’s play. The American dream has become more accessible, thanks to the authorization put in place: the ESTA travel authorization.

However, since the start of the health crisis in March 2020 linked to the arrival of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) in our lives, entering American territory has been a little upset. The borders have been closed to ESTA holders from March 2020 to November 8, 2021 . Since the reopening of the territory to foreigners holding an ESTA, other rules concerning vaccination have been applied. So check that you are in good standing with your vaccines before planning your trip to the United States.

United States stay
United States stay

Is theESTA application similar to that of a USA visa? We answer this question in this article.

Zoom on the ESTA before ordering it

To travel to the USA, travelers need to obtain a travel authorization. Without this, it is impossible for them to board the plane or the boat in the direction of the United States of America.

Why was the ESTA authorization introduced?

The ESTA authorization was created in 2009 for one main reason: to strengthen American national security while maintaining tourist flows to the USA. The implementation of the Visa Waiver Program helped to relieve congestion at American embassies while developing the tourist attraction of the United States, but did not allow effective control of travelers before they came to land. American. With ESTA, it’s done.

Who can apply for an ESTA?

To make an ESTA order, you must check your eligibility for ESTA. Below are the eligibility criteria to be met:

How does ESTA USA work?

The ESTA is an electronic travel authorization, that is to say that it is electronically linked to the passport used during the application. Be careful therefore if you change your passport during the validity of the ESTA: a new ESTA request must be made with the new passport.

The authorization is valid for a maximum of two years. This validity may be less if your passport expires earlier. A valid ESTA allows you to make as many trips to the USA as you wish provided you comply with the terms of the ESTA as to the nature and duration of the stay. There is therefore no need to order an ESTA for each stay in the United States.

Travel to USA
Travel to USA

How to proceed with the ESTA authorization request?

The steps to complete an ESTA application are relatively simple, especially if we compare them with those for obtaining a US visa, which notably requires an interview with a consular officer at the US Embassy.

Applying for ESTA does not require any travel. Simply complete this request online by completing the ESTA form. This online form takes more or less time to complete depending on the site where you place an order.

The ESTA application on the official US government website

If you do not want to go through an intermediary for your ESTA application, you can complete the questionnaire yourself online by going to the US government website . Several sections must be completed. The first part is devoted to your personal information (identity, job, valid passport, etc.), the second is intended to understand your travel motivations and to obtain information on an emergency contact, for example. Finally, the third part is totally devoted to the background, whether legal or medical. As on a private site, it is the payment of the ESTA request that validates your order.

ESTA status following an online request

Completing the ESTA form is not a guarantee of obtaining it. Your ESTA order may be accepted, put on hold or declined. The response can be immediate or communicated within 72 hours.

An accepted request of course authorizes travel to the United States. A pending request requires patience since a definitive answer will be given later (within 3 days maximum). A refused request puts the traveler in a slightly more complex situation. If the request is rejected due to an input error in the request form, a new attempt can be made within 10 days. If the refusal is justified by non-compliance with an eligibility criterion, a visa application to the American consular services is required.

Depuis quelques années maintenant, séjourner aux USA pendant une courte durée est devenu un jeu d’enfant. Le rêve américain est devenu plus accessible, grâce à l’autorisation mise en place : l’ESTA.

Cependant, depuis le début de la crise sanitaire en mars 2020 liée à l’arrivée du Coronavirus (COVID-19) dans nos vies, l’entrée sur le territoire américain a été un peu bouleversée. Les frontières ont été fermé aux détenteurs d’un ESTA de mars 2020 au 8 novembre 2021. Depuis la réouverture du territoire aux étrangers détenant un ESTA, d’autres règles concernant la vaccination sont appliquées. Vérifier donc que vous êtes en règle de vos vaccins avant d’envisager votre voyage vers les États-Unis.

Séjour Etats Unis
Séjour Etats Unis

La demande ESTA est-elle similaire à celle d’un visa USA ? Nous répondons à cette question dans cet article.

Zoom sur l’ESTA avant de procéder à sa commande

Pour voyager aux USA, les voyageurs ont besoin d’obtenir une autorisation de voyage. Sans cela, il leur est impossible d’embarquer dans l’avion ou le bateau en direction des États-Unis d’Amérique.

Pourquoi l’autorisation ESTA a-t-elle été instaurée ?

L’autorisation ESTA a vu le jour en 2009 pour une raison principale : renforcer la sécurité nationale américaine tout en maintenant les flux touristiques à destination des USA. La mise en place du programme d’exemption de visa (Visa Waiver Program) a permis de désengorger les ambassades américaines tout en développant l’attrait touristique des Etats-Unis, mais ne permettait pas un contrôle efficace des voyageurs avant leur venue sur le sol américain. Avec l’ESTA, c’est chose faite.

Qui peut demander un ESTA ?

Pour faire une commande ESTA, il faut vérifier son éligibilité à l’ESTA. Ci-dessous, les critères d’éligibilité à respecter :

Comment fonctionne l’ESTA USA ?

L’ESTA est une autorisation de voyage électronique, c’est-à-dire qu’il est électroniquement relié au passeport utilisé lors de la demande. Attention donc si vous changez de passeport au cours de la validité de l’ESTA : une nouvelle demande ESTA devra être faite avec le nouveau passeport.

La durée de validité de l’autorisation est de deux ans maximum. Cette validité peut être moindre si votre passeport expire avant. Un ESTA valide vous permet de réaliser autant de voyages aux USA que vous le désirez à condition de respecter les termes de l’ESTA quant à la nature et la durée du séjour. Nul besoin donc de passer commande d’un ESTA à chaque séjour aux Etats-Unis.

Voyage aux USA
Voyage aux USA

Comment procéder à la demande d’autorisation ESTA ?

Les démarches pour réaliser une demande ESTA sont relativement simples, en particulier si nous les comparons avec celles pour l’obtention d’un visa américain, nécessitant notamment un entretien avec un agent consulaire à l’ambassade des États-Unis.

Faire une demande ESTA ne requiert aucun déplacement. Il suffit d’accomplir cette demande en ligne en remplissant le formulaire ESTA. Ce formulaire en ligne est plus ou moins long à remplir selon le site où vous passez commande.

La demande d’ESTA sur le site officiel du gouvernement américain

Si vous ne souhaitez pas passer par un intermédiaire pour votre demande ESTA, vous pouvez remplir de vous-même le questionnaire en ligne en vous rendant sur le site du gouvernement américain. Plusieurs sections doivent être remplies. Une première partie est consacrée à vos renseignements personnels (identité, emploi, passeport valide…), la seconde est destinée à comprendre vos motivations de voyage et à obtenir des informations sur un contact d’urgence par exemple. Pour finir, la troisième partie est totalement consacrée aux antécédents, qu’ils soient judiciaires ou médicaux. Comme sur un site privé, c’est le paiement de la demande ESTA qui valide votre commande.

Le statut ESTA suite à une demande en ligne

Remplir le formulaire ESTA n’est pas une garantie d’obtention. Il se peut que votre commande ESTA soit acceptée, mise en attente ou refusée. La réponse peut être immédiate ou communiquée sous 72 heures.

Une demande acceptée autorise bien entendu le voyage aux Etats-Unis. Une demande en instance requiert patience puisqu’une réponse définitive sera donnée ultérieurement (sous 3 jours maximum). Une demande refusée met le voyageur dans une situation un peu plus complexe. Si la demande est rejetée du fait d’une erreur de saisie dans le formulaire de demande, une nouvelle tentative peut être faite dans un délai de 10 jours. Si le refus est justifié par le non-respect d’un critère d’éligibilité, une demande de visa aux services consulaires américains s’impose.